While talk of England winning the World Cup resonated across the country, two rugby league teams from Brooksbank were making their own history in the Champion Schools Competition.  The school is thrilled to report that both Brooksbank’s Year 9 and Year 10 teams have become National Champions for 2018.

This really was ‘Fantastic Friday!’ and we would like to congratulate both teams on their amazing success.  We would also like to pay tribute to Head Coach, Mr Damian Ball on his outstanding management and leadership.  Both fixtures took place at Victoria Park, Warrington, on Friday, July 6th.

Year 9 Champion Schools Final against St Peter’s Orrell

The boys put in an amazing performance and controlled the game from the beginning, despite some stunning defence from St Peter’s Orrell. The game was a very tough affair with Brooksbank putting in some big hits from the start of the match.  Two St Peter’s players were off the field injured at the 10 minute spell. By half time, Brooksbank had established a respectable lead of 10 points to 6 with two tries from Harvey Oldroyd.

The second half was much the same, as Brooksbank dominated proceedings without putting points on the board.  Some big carries from Luca Powell, Tom Rigbye and in particular Josh Brown, who was outstanding on the day.  The final score was a triumphant Brooksbank 16, St Peter’s 6, following another try from Oldroyd who deservedly picked up the Man of the Match for his efforts.

“A Harvey Oldroyd – inspired performance by the West Yorkshire lads!” tweeted @TheRFL on social media.

This is Year 9’s first national final win.  Other competition accolades for 2018 include the Calderdale Cup and the Yorkshire Cup.

Massive congratulations to the squad

Matthew Weston, Sam Slater, Dylan Jackson, Archie Williams, Ben Bland, Morgan Gannon, Deacon Tallis, Alfie Sutcliffe, Jacob Hirst, Luca Powell, Billy Davies, Josh Brown, Harvey Oldroyd, Noah Tyson, Callum Ingham, Harry Finch, Tom Rigbye, Leon Prince

Year 10 Champion Schools Final against Wade Deacon

Facing Wade Deacon, this game was never going to be a walk in the park for Brooksbank.  After a faltering start, leaving Brooksbank 8 points down, the boys fought hard to level up the score to 8-8 at half-time.  Tries from Felix Lorimer and James Davison-Thackray succeeded in putting Brooksbank back in the game.

After Jack Lumb’s fine try in the second half, the tide began to turn when Brooksbank who went ahead by 6 points from another by Davison-Thackray, near the posts.  This sealed the deal and ensured the Year 10 boys could join their Year 9 brothers in victory.  It had been a tense finale to the game.  Commended for their strong performances were Robson McGowan and Man of the Match, Matthew Nicholson.  The final score was Brooksbank 20-14 Wade Deacon.

Massive congratulations to the squad

Coby Nichol, Bailey Dawson, James Dawson Thackray, Felix Lorimer, Joe McDonnell, Adam Smith, Emmerson Bradwell, Kieron Gallagher, Jack Lumb, Alex Burns, Robson McGowan, Matthew Nicholson, Lewis Mallinson, Alex Carter, Jamie Reeve, Lewis Jones.

Fantastic support from Headteacher, Brooksbank staff and parents

Brooksbank receive strong support from their Headteacher, Mr Kevin McCallion.  A former PE teacher and rugby coach, he is often pitch-side, cheering for Team Brooksbank.

Mr Ball would like to thank the parents, who turn up to all the games, despite work commitments.  Their fundraising is greatly appreciated too.  “Their support has been fantastic!  They are a truly amazing set of people and we’re delighted they’ve chosen to send their sons to Brooksbank and support us all the way,” says Mr Ball. “We wouldn’t be able to do it without them,” he says.