School rugby does not get better than this!  It was a thrilling finale to a spectacular Yorkshire Cup season for Brooksbank’s Year 11 Rugby Team.  Storm Gareth may have delayed their final date with destiny, but it was worth the wait!

Brooksbank had beaten Garforth Academy 40-6 to qualify a shot at this year’s County Cup title; and the boys were up against a tough side from Outwood Academy.

At the end of play there was little doubt who were masters of this match, as Brooksbank’s emphatic 32-10 victory proved.   The result also served to uplift team spirits following disappointment at the Champion Schools final, just two weeks earlier.

“Well – what can I say!” said chuffed-to-bits team coach, Mr Ball.  “It’s been a privilege to coach such a great group of students.  We are so proud of what you have achieve for school rugby,” he confirmed.

The game had opened up well for Brooksbank, with Nichol being the first to score a try, from a corner.

This was underscored by a second.  With Outwood yet to make their mark, a converted try from Brooksbank swelled the lead 14-0.

The Elland assault continued with an under-the-posts try from Lumb early in the second half.  This was duly converted by McDonnell, putting Brooksbank a clear 10 points ahead at 20-10.

Domination continued when Oldroyd covered more than half the pitch, supported by Nicholson, to score under the posts.  Another McDonnell conversion made for a healthy 28-10 score.

Then came another one, this time Gannon came into his own, following a great build up from McGowan and Nichol.  A conversion by McDonnell put the final score at 34-10 and it was mission accomplished for the boys’ final game for their school.

Marking the team’s final outing for Brooksbank, parent Mr Paul McDonnell commented on Twitter, “The end of the journey but a great way to go out!  Thanks Mr Ball, it’s been a great few years.”

Massive congratulations to the team on a magnificent win!

Emerson Bradwell, Alex Carter, James Davison Thackray, Coby Nichol, Joe McDonnell, Morgan Gannon, Harvey Oldroyd, Kieran Gallagher, Jack Lumb, Jamie Reeve, Lewis Jones, Robson McGowan, Matthew Nicholson, Bailey Dawson, Josh Brown.

Y11 Rugby