In September 2020, the much anticipated T Level technical courses will become available for students to study.

T Level overview

T Levels are two-year, Level 3 courses which follow on from Level 2 GCSEs.  They have been developed in collaboration with employers and businesses so that course content meets the needs of industry and prepares students for the workplace.

It is expected that T Levels will become one of the main choices for students after their GCSEs, and will rank alongside apprenticeships, for students who wish to learn a specific occupation ‘on the job’, and A Levels, (for students who wish to continue an academic education).

There are fifteen pathways planned and Education and Childcare, Construction and Digital will be the first T Levels to launch.

Industry placements

Every T Level will include an industry placement with an employer focused on developing the practical and technical skills required for the occupation. These will last a minimum of 45 working days but can last longer. Employers can offer industry placements as a block, day release or a mix of these.

Grades and certificates

Students who pass all the elements of their T Level will get a nationally recognised certificate showing an overall grade of pass, merit or distinction.

Certificates will also set out the details of what students have achieved on their course.

The T Level certificate will include:

  • an overall pass grade for the T Level, shown as pass, merit or distinction,
  • a separate grade for the occupational specialism, shown as pass, merit or distinction,
  • a separate grade for the core component, using A* to E,
  • grades for Maths and English qualifications,
  • details of the industry placement.