Transition into 6th form

To all prospective Year 12 students hoping to join The Brooksbank School Sixth Form in September 2021

We are very conscious of the fact that due to Covid-19 you may have missed out on some aspects of your GCSE courses, revision and examinations. Therefore to help support you make the transition to the Sixth Form we have prepared some tasks for you to complete over the coming weeks. These tasks will give you an introduction to your chosen courses, keep your mind intellectually stimulated and give us an indication of how serious you are about studying at Brooksbank in the Sixth Form.

On this page you will find the transition work for your sixth form subjects.

You are expected to complete the work for the 3 or 4 subjects for which you have been offered a place at Brooksbank. This work will need to be completed (either on paper or a PC) and handed in to your class teacher week beginning Monday 13th September. You can hand in either a hard copy or electronically. There’s an email address for each subject for you to submit work.

Once you’ve completed the task, subjects have also provided reading lists to keep you engaged over the summer and further your understanding of the subject. Post-16 study is about going beyond what you learn in the classroom, so this is a good time to get started on wider reading.

Completion of this transition work is a requirement of you starting sixth form and shows your interest in the subjects you intend to study. It will also give you an insight into whether the subject is right for you. If you decide the subject is not right for you, you may be able to change once you have your results. Please do not contact the sixth form team regarding subject choice changes now – we will make any changes, if possible, after your GCSE results are released on Thursday 12th August.

If you have any queries regarding transition work, please contact the subject leader of the relevant subject. If you have any queries regarding sixth form generally, please use jballen@bbs.calderdale.sch.uk

 

Mr D. Puddephatt – Director Post-16

 

SUBJECT

3D-Design

Download The PDF >

Mr Andy Horrocks – ahorrocks@bbs.calderdale.sch.uk

Art & Photography

Download The PDF >

Mrs Hannah Mouzdi – hmouzdi@bbs.calderdale.sch.uk

Biology

Download The PDF >

Mrs Laura Farley  – lfarley@bbs.calderdale.sch.uk

Business Studies BTEC

Download The PDF >

Mrs Hannah Murphy – hmurphy@bbs.calderdale.sch.uk

Business Studies A-Level (C6)

Download The PDF >

N Wardingley – n.wardingley@brighouse.calderdale.sch.uk

Chemistry

Download The PDF >

Mrs Jo Weir – jweir@bbs.calderdale.sch

Computer Science (C6)

Download The PDF >

Mr Marcus Weston  – m.weston@crossleyheath.org.uk

Criminology

Download The PDF >

Mrs Laura Fairclough  – lfairclough@bbs.calderdale.sch.uk

Dance (C6)

Download The PDF >

S Attah  – s.attah@rvhschool.co.uk

Drama

Download The PDF >

Mrs Susie Simpson  – ssimpson@bbs.calderdale.sch.uk

Economics (C6)

Download The PDF >

Mr Mark Schofield  – m.schofield@crossleyheath.org.uk

English Language

Download The PDF >

Mrs Donna Clarke  – dclarke@bbs.calderdale.sch.uk

English Literature

Download The PDF >

Mr Nick Shaw  – nshaw@bbs.calderdale.sch.uk

French (C6)

Download The PDF >

P Shingler  – pshingler@brighouse.calderdale.sch.uk

Geography Transition Information

Download The PDF >

Mr John Campbell – jcampbell@bbs.calderdale.sch.uk

Health & Social Care

Download The PDF >

Mrs K Bright  – kbright@bbs.calderdale.sch.uk

History

Download The PDF >

Mrs Alex Wainhouse  – awainhouse@bbs.calderdale.sch.uk

ICT

Download The PDF >

Mr Simon Oliver  – soliver@bbs.calderdale.sch.uk

Law

Download The PDF >

Mrs Emma Hinkles  – ehinkles@bbs.calderdale.sch.uk

Maths

Download The PDF >

Mr James Walker  – jawalker@bbs.calderdale.sch.uk

Media Studies

Download The PDF >

Mrs Donna Clarke  – dclarke@bbs.calderdale.sch.uk

Music – Performance BTEC

Download The PDF >

Mr J Cooper  – jcooper@bbs.calderdale.sch.uk

Physical Education

Download The PDF >

Mrs Jo Nutter  – jnutter@bbs.calderdale.sch.uk

Politics (C6)

Download The PDF >

D Bell – d.bell@brighouse.calderdale.sch.uk

Physics

Download The PDF >

Mr Chris Smith – csmith@bbs.calderdale.sch.uk

Psychology Applied

Download The PDF >

Mrs Laura Fairclough  – lfairclough@bbs.calderdale.sch.uk

Science BTEC

Download The PDF >

Mr Peter Lee  – plee@bbs.calderdale.sch.uk

Sociology

Download The PDF >

Ms Eleanor Lobb  – elobb@bbs.calderdale.sch.uk

Sport BTEC

Download The PDF >

Mr Deroy White  – dwhite@bbs.calderdale.sch.uk

Textiles (C6)

Download The PDF >

A Booth  – a.booth@brighouse.calderdale.sch.uk