Year 9 News

Dear Parents and Students,

Damian-Ball

 

Damian Ball

Head of Year

Reading alert … New Year – New DEAR!

Drop And Read Day 2019 (800x400)

Drop Everything And Read (DEAR) is taking place during period 5 on Friday, 1st February.  This year we have developed the DEAR idea of community reading as follows.

Students in each year group and their class teacher will read the same short story:

Year 7 – Dream Daddy by Brian Martin;

Year 8 – The Watcher Society by Ellen Draper;

Year 9 – The Story of Blue Beard by Brigid McCauley;

Year 10 – Man from the South by Roald Dahl;

Year 11 – The Darkness Out There by Penelope Lively.

Also new for 2019 is the addition of a competition.

Those who have enjoyed reading the story can try one of the following tasks:

  • write a review of the story in under 100 words;
  • produce a biography on one side of A4 after carrying out research on the author;
  • write a short story that follows a similar theme in under 500 words;
  • produce a news report on your interview with one of the characters about their experience.

Competition entries can be posted in the competition box in the LRC by Friday, 8th February.

Prize winners will be announced at the end of half-term.  Good luck, everyone!!

 

The hills are alive …

In just one month’s time, forty-six students from Year 8 and 9 will be breezing down the ski slopes of Saalbach-Hinterglemm, Austria.  The #SkiAustria2019 party departs Friday, 15th February by coach and arrives in the Glemm Valley at around 4.00pm on the following day.  Top on the itinerary is skiing! … and lots of it!  Also on the agenda are ice skating swimming and shopping.  The party will also watch a live ice hockey match and celebrate their accomplishments with a fun-filled awards evening.

 

Saalbach Hinterglemm Ski

Holiday dates …..

  • Summer – Opens Tuesday 4th September 2018
  • Autumn Half Term – Closes: Friday 26th October 2018 / Opens: Monday 5th November 2018
  • Christmas – Closes:Friday 21st December 2018 / Opens: Monday 7th January 2019
  • February Half Term – Closes: Thursday 14th February 2019 / Opens: Monday 25th February 2019
  • Easter – Closes: Friday 12th April 2019 / Opens:  Monday 25th April 2019
  • May Day – Closed: Monday 6th May 2019
  • Spring Bank – Closes: Friday 24th May 2019 / Opens: Monday 3rd June 2019
  • Summer – Closes: Thursday 18th July 2019